Tom Cooper’s Death (Author of “Raising Jesus The Story of The Maranatha House”)

It has been a while (almost a year) since I have posted here on this blog. Since at least part of the emphasis on this blog is critiquing Tom Cooper’s book I did want to make those who may still follow this blog aware of Tom Cooper’s recent death.
Rusty Russell posted the following on February 9, 2017:

“Mildred lost her brother today. Tom Cooper our wonderful brother/brother in law is now gracing the halls of the Throne room in Heaven. Or he might be playing his most favorite sport, Basketball! His pain is over, his journey complete.”

For those who don’t know, Tom Cooper had received a kidney transplant from one of his brothers quite a while ago. Tom indicated on Facebook in August 2016 that “the transplant meds were starting to take a toll.”

Despite all the tension and as one person put “bad blood” between myself and Tom Cooper I was sad to hear of his death. I am sure the tension that existed and how personally he took my critiquing of his book wasn’t the best for his health. I had even reached out to Tom’s brother in law Rusty Russell (fairly high ranking leader in the former Maranatha) for help in mediating this and he expressed no interest in getting involved.

For those who want to read more here is where Tom & I had a number of heated discussions:

http://thewartburgwatch.com/2016/02/10/maranatha-ministries-reconsidered-steve240s-new-blog/

I do have more to say both about Maranatha Ministries and about the book “Raising Jesus” and in some ways glad that I didn’t continue to post when Tom was in such poor health. Again with all the tension, I am sure Tom sincerely believed he wrote an honest history of Maranatha though I certainly question that after reading his book.

Praying for Tom’s family. As of posting this blog, no details have been posted about a funeral etc.

Leave a comment